Thirumalai Nayak Mahal is a 17th-century palace erected in 1636 AD by King Thirumalai Nayak, a king of Madurai's Nayaka dynasty who ruled Madurai from 1623–59, in the city of Madurai, India. This Palace is a great combination of Dravidian and Rajput styles. The building, which can be seen today, was the fundamental Palace, in which the lord lived. The first Palace Complex was four times greater than the present structure.
In its prime, the royal residence was thought to be one of the marvels of the South. This royal residence is arranged 2 km south east of the Meenakshi Amman Temple. Worked in 1636, as a point of convergence of his capital at Madurai, Thirumalai Nayak expected the royal residence to be one of the most terrific in South India. The plan and design is a mix of Dravidian and Islamic styles. The Interior of the castle outperforms huge numbers of its Indian counterparts in scale. The inside is luxuriously designed while the outside is dealt with in a more stark style.
Amid the eighteenth century numerous structures that were a piece of this castle were maneuvered down or fused into structures in the nearby roads. What remains is the encased court known as the Sga Vilasam and a couple of connecting structures. The group of onlookers council of the Sga Vilasam is a tremendous corridor with arcades around 12 m high. The design is a mix of indigenous and Islamic structures. Thirumalai nayakar mahal is renowned for its goliath columns. Column's stature is 82 feet and width is 19 feet.