Loharu Fort was built in the year 1570 CE by Thakur Arjun Singh. Rao Shekha had originally divided Shekhawati into 33 thikanas, of which Loharu Fort was 33rd. It was then a little town with a kuccha, a mud stronghold, and remained all things considered until 1800 A.D. There have been 2 noteworthy fights battled about Loharu Fort. The first was in 1671 A.D between Thakur Madan Singh and the Mughal Governor of Hisar, and it was battled about the Land Revenue. The other was battled between the Thakur Kirat Singh and Raja Bhopal Singh of Khetri who asserted Loharu as a component of Khetri.
Raja Bhopal Singh was murdered in the fight outside Loharu Fort, and a Chatri was worked in his respect at where he was incinerated, which is situated around 1 km from the fortress. The Paragna at that point passed on to the territory of Alwar and later turned into the Paragana under the province of Ferozpur Jhirka, which was managed by Nawab Ahmed Baksh Khan in the year 1803. It was from this year forward that pukka development of the mud post and town began. The Fort was in the hands of later Nawabs of Loharu until 1971 when the Late Nawab Aminuddin Ahmed Khan sold it to the Government of Haryana. Since these structures were uninhabited, all the north-wing had fell as was a piece of the east-wing. Just the south-wing of the fortress containing the Farukh Manzil survives, and that too went into an exceptionally frail state.