Raja ghat is placed in Varanasi. The ghat was transformed with levelling and some built structure by means of Rajirao Balaji in ca 1720. This changed into rebuilt with stone slabs by way of Amrit Rao Peshva for the duration of 1780-1807, who changed into living in Banaras as exiled via the British government. Amrit Rao has also constructed the four temples of Amriteshvara, Vinayakeshvara, Narayaneshvara and Gangeshvara, and four auxiliary shrines, and additionally renovated the Prabhasha Tirtha in 1780.
Earlier the ghat turned into called Amritarao Ghat as referred via James Prinsep and Edwin Greeves, however this turned into described below the call of “Raja Ghat” by way of Motichand. The northern aspect is the palace, and the southern element is the Annapurna Math. These sections are divided via the stairway. Till 1980 there was a culture to feed Brahmins, Sanskrit college students, ascetics, etc.
But whilst the Intach commenced its programme and the Clarks Hotel took initiated to use it for promoting a special group of tourists, the earlier traditions vanished. In 1965 the Government of Uttar Pradesh has renovated this ghat and built the stairs made of purple stones. At the principle front location, a refectory is constructed that completely reserved for the Brahmins.