Krishnagiri Fort is one of the strongest forts in the Krishnagiri district and is now one of the monuments protected by the Archaeological Survey of India. The post was worked by King Krishnadeayalu of the Vijayanagar Empire. Consequently, the town and the stronghold got the name Krishnagiri. The stronghold and the encompassing regions, at that point called "baramahal", were given to Jagadeayalu by the Vijayanagar for his valor in the wars. Jagadeayalu made Jagadevi his capital.
In the seventeenth century the stronghold and baramahal went under the control of Bijapur Sultanate and it was given to Shahji as jagir. Shahji made Bangalore his central command and administered these regions. After the passing of Shahji, his more youthful child Vyankoji turned into the ruler. In the 1670s Chatrapati Shivaji caught this fortress from his more youthful sibling Vyankoji amid his Deccan undertaking. In the eighteenth century Hyder Ali caught this fortification and baramahal on the guidance of Chikka Deaja Wodeyar, lord of Mysore.
Afterward, Hyder Ali held these territories when he got isolated from the ruler of Mysore and made his own particular capital Srirangapatna. In 1768 this post surrendered to the British after a long barricade in the First Anglo-Mysore war. In November 1791 British troops under Lt. Col. Maxwell assaulted the fortress, amid the third Anglo-Mysore war, bringing about 50 British losses. With every one of their officers injured or dead they were compelled to withdraw. The fortress stayed in Tipu Sultan's ownership until the point when the Treaty of Srirangapatna in 1792 which surrendered it to the British.