Finished in 1850, the first building filled in as a store and office for the adjacent convict-contracting warehouse. In 1872 when the stop shut, more rooms were added. From 1873 to 1953 it was the center point of the town's get-togethers, when it wound up noticeably home to the nearby government executive, known as the administration occupant and later inhabitant officer an in this way getting to be plainly known as residency. the two positions purchased with them social greatness; facilitating balls, weddings, tennis and casual get-togethers. In the vicinity of 1953 and 1970 the building had different uses. The Albany Residency Museum, the principal branch of the WA Museum outside the metropolitan region.