The old Hippodrome was begun by Septimius Severus in AD 203 and wrapped up by Constantine the Great in AD 330.
This was the focal point of Byzantine open life and the scene of awe inspiring amusements and chariot races yet additionally factional clashes.
Today, there isn't a great part of the Hippodrome left to see, aside from a little segment of the display dividers on the southern side, yet the At Meydanpark that now remains on the site is home to an iety of landmarks.
On the northwest side is a wellspring, showed to the Ottoman sultan by the German Emperor William II in 1898.
At that point, traveling southwest are three antiquated landmarks, a 20-meter high Egyptian pillar from Heliopolis, the Serpent Column brought here from Delphi by Constantine, and a stone monolith that initially was clad in gold-secured bronze plating until the point when they were stolen by the fighters of the fourth Crusade in 1204.