Petroadin fortress was worked by the plans of Kajzersferda Matilija and military manufacturers were Vamberg, Gisenbir, Porch, Manet and Schroeder, every conspicuous name of the military design of the Austrian Empire. It is an especially vital underground post on four stories, with 16 kilometers of hallways and resting places and additionally a reinforcement supply well if there should be an occurrence of a long attack on the stronghold. Going to of the underground displays is suggested in an organization of expert aides of the Museum of Novi Sad.
Recent archeological revelations have offered another point of view on the historical backdrop of Petroadin, as well as on the whole locale. At the Upper Fortress, the remaining parts of a prior Paleolithic settlement dating from 19,000 to 15,000 BC have been found. With this new advancement, it has been built up that there has been a consistent settlement at this site from the Paleolithic age to the present. Amid the unearthings completed in 2005, archeologists likewise found another noteworthy discover.
Looking at stays from the early Bronze age c. 3000 BC, defenses were found which affirm that as of now around then an invigorated settlement existed at the Petroadin site. The defining moment in the historical backdrop of the territory came in 1235 AD when King Bela IV of Hungary brought a gathering of the Order of Cistercians from France. This request of priests fabricated the religious community Belakut upon the remaining parts of the Roman fortification of Cusum. The dividers of this cloister were worked in the vicinity of 1247 and 1252 and speak to the fortress at this site amid the Middle Ages.