Clare Museum is a museum which documents the records of County Clare. The museum is housed in the former Sisters of Mercy Convent inside the centre of Ennis. The building wherein the museum is housed turned into at the start a Sisters of Mercy faculty and chapel dating from 1854. Daniel O'Connell's cousin Charles O'Connell regularly visited the convent for the duration of his campaign for Catholic Emancipation within the 1820s. The section of the constructing that carries the museum changed into constructed as a primary school in 1865, and a chapel and classrooms brought in 1869.
The museum is run by way of the neighborhood authority. It became advanced thru Ennis Urban District Council with Clare County Council and the Department of Arts, Heritage, Gaeltacht and the Islands, under the Department’s Cultural Development Incentive Scheme under the Operational Programme for Tourism 1994–1999. The chapel and school buildings in which refurbished and restored, and the museum was opened to the public in October 2000.