The faith journey of this congregation started out in 1916, continues to develop and flourish as a worshiping and a witnessing network in the city of Chennai, initially with Christ Church - Alandur, then as a part of the Church of Jesus the Savior - Saidapet after which due to the fact that 1983 as a complete-fledged pastorate. In the year 1927, the Church Missionary Society contributors bought a land in Aramanaikaran Street which later changed in to Abdul Razack Sahib road that's presently known via the call Abdul Razack avenue.
Initially the congregation was recognized by the name “C.M.S St. Thomas Church” and Mr. D. Solomon became appointed as Catechist. In year 1933 the church changed into extended a chunk and retired District Forest Officer Mr. S. V. Devadasan used part of his savings to renovate and separate parsonage became constructed. Alandur church, Pallavaram church and our church mixed as referred to as Alandur Pastorate.
Also these 3 churches have Chairman, Pastorate Committee, and Church Accounts in not unusual. Alandur church was taken into consideration as the head among those church buildings and all the principle events may be conducted right here. In 1947, some mainline church buildings along with Anglican Church, Methodist Church, Congregationalist Church and Presbyterian Church had formed a union referred to as “Church of South India”.