The follies in the region were constructed by aristocrats serving the French king. In 1696, Etienne de Flaugergues, member of the Court of Audit, bought a piece of land and built which henceforth carried his name. It took him 45 years to give the existing house its current appearance. From then on, Flaugergues became an example for the ious other follies constructed by wealthy merchants surrounding Montpellier. One third of the château is taken up by a staircase of rare elegance that has a unique design. It has important 18th century furniture, five 17th century Flemish tapestries , a collection of high-quality porcelain and earthenware, ious documents relating to the history of Montpellier that have been archived since the 18th century.The site has been granted the remarkable garden classification by the Department of Culture.