The Stele Forest or Beilin Museum is a historical center for steles and stone models in Xi'an, China. The exhibition hall, which is housed in a previous Confucian Temple, has housed a developing accumulation of Steles since 1087. By 1944 it was the important gallery for Shaanxi territory. Because of the extensive number of steles, it was authoritatively renamed the Forest of Stone Steles in 1992.
The Stele Forest started with the Kaicheng Shi Jing Steles and Shitai Xiao Jing Steles, two gatherings of steles both cut in the Tang administration and showed in the sanctuary to Confucius in Chang'an. In 904, a radical armed force sacked Chang'an, and the steles were emptied to the internal city. In 962, they were come back to the reconstructed sanctuary. In the Song Dynasty, a unique lobby with connected offices was worked to house and show the two stele gatherings. It houses about 3,000 steles and it is the greatest gathering of steles in China.
A large portion of its displays are steles of the Tang Dynasty. Ink rubbings of the steles are accessible available to be purchased. Among the abnormal cases is an eighteenth century stele delineating a Yangtze River surge control venture. Another gives off an impression of being a bamboo woodland, however on examination the leaves and branches frame a lyric. The well known Nestorian Stele was moved to the Stele Forest in 1907, after the neighborhood specialists discovered that the Danish traveler Frits Holm was around the local area, attempting to "get" the old landmark and remove it from the nation