Burntisland is an illustrious burgh and ward in Fife, Scotland, on the northern shore of the Firth of Forth. As indicated by the 2011 enumeration, the town has a populace of 6,269. It is known locally for its honor winning sandy shoreline, the 15th century Rossend Castle, and also the conventional summer reasonable and Highland amusements day. Toward the north of the town a slope called The Binn is a milestone of the Fife coastline; a volcanic fitting, it rises 193 meters 632 ft above ocean level.
Early proof of human action around there has been found in shake carvings on the Binn, contemplated 4,000 years old. The Roman officer Agricola utilized the common harbor and set up camp at the adjacent Dunearn Hill in AD 83. The most punctual chronicled record of the town was in the12th century, when the priests of Dunfermline Abbey claimed the harbor and neighboring lands.
The settlement was referred to as Wester Kinghorn and created as an angling villa to give sustenance to the occupants of Rossend Castle. The harbor was then sold to James V by the abbots of Dunfermline Abbey in return for a bundle of land. The land was conceded regal burgh status by James V in 1541. When the status was affirmed in 1586, the settlement picked up autonomy from the barony of Kinghorn and was renamed Burntisland, perhaps an epithet from the consuming of fishermens' cottages on an islet presently consolidated into the docks.