The Old Gate was worked in the vicinity of 1230 and 1250 on the remains of a past pinnacle. The base of the thirteenth century tower stays as the establishment at the same time, in 1511, Speyer's chairman requested that the pinnacle be reconstructed, so the best segment is more current. It was finished in 1514.
The pinnacle barely survived the pulverization of Speyer in 1689, amid the War of the Grand Alliance. French troops had set explosives in the pinnacle and were planning to annihilate it when the Prior of the close-by Carmelite religious community cautioned Marshal Duras that the pinnacle's crumple may imperil the cloister and Duras' central station, which had been set up nearby. The old door was built to check the finish of a "By means of Triumphalis" that drove from the house of God to the city dividers.