Jaffna Fort is a fort worked by the Portuguese at Jaffna, Sri Lanka. The fortification is situated close Karaiyur. Because of ious wonders credited to the statue of Virgin Mary in the congregation inside the fort, Jaffna Fort was named as Fortress of Our Lady of Miracles of Jafanapatao. It was caught by the Dutch under Rijcklof van Goens in 1658 who extended it. As the main expansive military stronghold in the nation, because of the nearness of just government and military structures inside its defenses, it was garrisoned by a unit of the Ceylon Army.
Jaffna Fort as a polygonal walled structure, however in all actuality the greater part of its dividers are covered up underneath congested inclines. Outside the canal in the external defenses is a progression of five passages, each under twin arrangement. The passages are very much saved, however appear to be drained of doors. Most of the landmarks inside the fortification have been pulverized.
Of these, the landmark named the Queen's House is under adequate level of conservation and can be effortlessly distinguished. In spite of the fact that the upward expansion of its structure is totally annihilated, the vast majority of the dividers still remain. The fortress likewise had a Church situated inside its mixes which was consequently shelled and leveled. Since its quality was archived, its design can be recognized.