The display lobby was at first opened in 1910 under the curatorship of J.P. Dalton. After the expending of Cork in 1920, the building quickly held the Municipal Offices.
The building moreover filled in as the Air Raid Protection office in the midst of the Emergency.
Museum finally re-opened in 1945 with M.J. O'Kelly; Professor of Archeology in U.C.C. as Curator and it was he that began the lively work of social event, posting and showing material that dynamic Curators continued.
In 1996, Cork Public Museum got financing from the European Regional Development Fund to make an expansion to the verifiable focus.
Attachment City Council composed these advantages and work began on sketching out and constructing a reason collected, display day exhibition.
Neil Hegarty, City Architect and his staff at the Architects Department, Cork City Council, arranged the increase