Cubbon Park, officially known as Sri Chamarajendra Park is a landmark 'lung' area of Bengaluru town, located in the coronary heart of the town inside the Central Administrative Area. Originally created in 1870, when Major General Richard Sankey was the then British Chief Engineer of Mysore nation, it covered a place of 100 acres and next expansion has taken vicinity and the area mentioned now's approximately 300 acres. It has a wealthy recorded records of abundant plant life and fauna plantations coupled with severa superb and aesthetically placed homes and statues of well-known personages, in its precincts.
This public park was first named as Meade’s Park after Sir John Meade, the acting Commissioner of Mysuru in 1870 and finally renamed as Cubbon Park after the longest-serving commissioner of the time, Sir Mark Cubbon. To commemorate the Silver Jubilee of Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar’s rule in Mysore State, in 1927, the park changed into again renamed as Sri. Chamarajendra Park, in reminiscence of the nineteenth-century ruler of the nation Sri Chamarajendra Wodeyar, at some stage in whose rule the park got here into life.