The Paravur Synagogue aka Parur Synagogue is the one of largest and most complete among the Jewish synagogues in Kerala, located in North Paravur Parur. It is currently non-operational as a synagogue for worship. However, it has been recently renovated by the Government of Kerala and is now open to public visits as the Kerala Jews History Museum. Jewish people Malabar Jews had been arriving in Kerala since 1st millennia BC for trading, and their communities were mostly settled around today's Kodungallur region which was then a Roman trading port named Muziris and Kollam.
They received royal patronage and special rights from the local Chera kings such as Cheraman Perumal and established Synagogues at their respective settlements for public worship. This was documented in the copper plates dated 10th century AD issued by Bhaskara Ravi Varman to the Jewish community leader Joseph Rabban. In the 14th century AD, after the Periyar Flood of 1341 that also caused a Tsunami, according to some sources, the community had to relocate to nearby towns such as Paravur, Chendamangalam and Kochi.
Memories of this incident were preserved by oral tradition through traditional songs in Jewish Malayalam. The Paravur Synagogue is among the oldest Synagogues that still exist in Kerala and is also the largest Synagogue complex. According to a traditional Jewish Malayalam song, the synagogue was put to fire in 1662, most likely by the Portuguese, at around the same time when the Paradesi Synagogue near Fort Kochi was also burnt.