Mangalagiri is a town in Guntur region arranged between the twin urban areas of Vijayawada and Guntur of the Indian territory of Andhra Pradesh. The town is the home office of Mangalagiri mandal under Guntur income division. It is a noteworthy suburb of the urban areas of Vijayawada and Guntur. It likewise shapes a piece of the Andhra Pradesh Capital Region. It is arranged on National Highway 5 amongst Vijayawada and Guntur. The town was known to have existed since 225 B.C.. It is likewise a piece of Andhra Pradesh Capital Region with a populace of 73,613.
It is dated to 1520 and notices the catch of Kondavidu by Timmarasu, general of Krishna Deva Raya, in 1515 from the Gajapati leaders of Kalinga old Odisha. Another stone close to the sanctuary of Garudal has engravings on four sides recording gifts in the rule of Sadasiva Raya of Vijayanagara Empire 1538. The grand gopuram in the sanctuary at the foot of the slope was raised by Raja Vasireddy Venkatadri Nayudu in 1807– 1809, and as far as model and engineering this sanctuary stands to be an extreme confirmation for the antiquated vishwakarma sthapathis in arranging and chiseling these sanctuaries.
Mangalagiri was under the control of Golkonda Nawabs for a significant lot. It was looted in 1780 by Hyder Jung however couldn't be won. In 1816, a group of Pindaris again plundered the place. It gradually recuperated from these two assaults amid the season of Raja Vasireddy Venkatadri Nayudu who controlled the place from Amaravati.