The improvement of the stronghold backpedals to twelfth century when the city of Kurnool was used as a base for closure before crossing point Tungabhadra River. It was controlled by Vijayanagar ruler Deaya II and Achyutaraya who suceeded Krishnadeaya built the basic stronghold between 1530 to 1542. It stands even today as the splendorous instances of the building of those conditions. The fortification is named after Konda Reddy, the last pioneer of Alampur who was kept in the post by the Kurnool Nawab in seventeenth century. Konda Reddy at last made tracks in an opposite direction from the fortress, yet expected to free his area to Golconda Nawabs.