Constructed in the in the mid-1500s on the little island of If, this fort was initially proposed to go about as seaside safeguard station. The fort was manufactured reasonably efficiently and recklessly holding an unpleasant surface on the external dividers of the three-story island protection. Gunnery towers were additionally worked inside the dividers which remain today as the fortifications essential characterizing highlight. No assault at any point occurred at the fortress and it weathered the hundreds of years almost untouched put something aside for climate and time.
By the 1800s the space, pointless as a fortification, was changed over to a jail that utilized its island status as its primary escape hindrance. Amid this time, a scope of detainees were focused on the correctional facility running from killers to political detainees. The conditions ran from packed prison cells for the lower classes to little flats furnished with chimneys for well off detainees. The jail held a touch of reputation because of its novel position, yet it was launch into history when creator Alexandre Dumas utilized it as the correctional facility where his well known Count of Monte Cristo spent over 10 years before getting away.
The jail was in the end shut and really opened to the general population as a historic point by 1890. Today, notwithstanding a lot of crude spray painting carved into the blocks by genuine prisoners, one of the previous cells has been assigned to have been where the Count was held in spite of the man never having existed by any means.