Ville-Marie is a town on Lake Temiscaming in western Quebec, Canada. It is the biggest city and seat of the Temiscamingue Regional County Municipality, Quebec. As one of the most established towns in the Abitibi-Temiscamingue area, it is viewed as the support of north-western Quebec and nicknamed "Pearl of Temiscamingue". CKVM-FM communicates from Ville-Marie. The town is home to the Junior "A" Ville-Marie Pirates of the Greater Metro Junior A Hockey League.
As of now in 1679, the place worked as an exchanging post between the French and indigenous Algonquians. In 1720, the North West Company opened an exchanging post and constructed a store in 1785, which came under the control of the Hudson's Bay Company in 1821 when the two organizations consolidated. In 1836, a mission was built up, followed in 1863, by a mission established by the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate, who gave it the name "Ville-Marie".
Initially the territory was called Kelly Bay out of appreciation for its first pioneer, James Kelly, who lived as a loner. In 1874, Oblate evangelist Joseph Moffet 1852-1932 cleared some land and moved to Kelly Bay that came to be known as Baie-des-Pères Bay of Fathers. In 1883, he was joined by a gathering of pilgrims from Nicolet. In 1886, the Parish of Notre-Dame-du-Saint-Rosaire-de-Ville-Marie was established, and in 1891, the Baie-des-Pere Post Office opened. The Village Municipality of Ville-Marie was joined in 1897 and the next year the mail station was renamed to coordinate the town's name.