Smiths Falls is a city in Eastern Ontario, Canada, with a populace of 8,978 consistent with the 2011 census. It is within the Census Division for Lanark County, but is separated from the county. The Rideau Canal waterway passes via the town, with four separate locks in three places and a blended elevate of over 15 metres. The metropolis's name was now and again rather spelled "Smith's Falls" or "Smith Falls", but "Smiths Falls" is now taken into consideration accurate.
The town is named after Thomas Smyth, a United Empire Loyalist who in 1786 became granted four hundred acres in gift-day Smiths Falls. The Heritage House Museum, also referred to as the Ward House, turned into specific underneath the Ontario Heritage Act in 1977. At the time of construction of the Rideau Canal a small agreement were established round a mill operated by using Abel Russell Ward, who had sold Smyth's land. Colonel By ordered the removal of Ward's mill to make way for the canal. He settled with Ward for £1,500, one among the largest claims made by way of mill owners on the canal.