Rinphung Dzong was honored in 1645 by Shabdrung Nawang Namgyal on the site of the more diminutive stronghold. All through the seventeenth and eighteenth several years, it filled in as a bastion against assault from the north.
It is seen as one of the finest Bhutanese building - with multifaceted wood work, broad bars opened into each other and held together without nails.
In it houses the beast 30m X 45m Thangka Thongdrol, designated in mid eighteenth century, appeared on the latest day of Paro Tsechu festivity.
Rinphung Dzong is the territory headquarter of Paro and living course of action of state clerics under Paro rabdey.
The advancement of the Paro Dzong began in 1644 on the demand of Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal. Paro Dzong's full name is Ringpung Dzong, which implies 'heap of pearls - fortress'.
In the fifteenth century, two kin Gyelchok and Gyelzom, descendants of Phajo the creator of Drukpa Kagyu in Bhutan, lived in the valley.