The Church of St. Leodegar is a Roman Catholic church within the city of Lucerne, Switzerland. It became built in parts from 1633 to 1639 on the muse of the Roman basilica which had burnt in 1633. This church changed into one of the few constructed north of the Alps in the course of the Thirty Years War and one in all the biggest and art history wealthy church buildings of the German overdue renaissance length.
In the 8th century there has been already an abbey consecrated to Saint Maurice on the modern website of the church, which had been donated via Pepin the Short, and turned into recognised on the time because the Monastarium Luciaria. By the 12th century the abbey changed into under the jurisdiction of the Murbach Abbey, whose patron saint turned into St. Leodegar. In 1291 the abbey become sold to the Habsburgs.
In 1433 the town of Lucerne, not a member of the Eidgenossenschaft, took manipulate of the abbey, and in 1455 it became converted from Benedictine to a “regularly occurring order” church. The monastery experienced a heyday in the course of the time of the reformation because of Luzern being a prominent town for the Swiss Catholic cantons. The papal nuncio, resident in Luzern, used the church as his cathedral for the duration of this time.