The Phillaur fortress has an entrancing history behind it. Arranged on the Grand Trunk Road, it has an extraordinary chronicled foundation. The town of Phillaur in which the fortification is found owes its inception to a Sanghera Jat, Phul, who named it after himself as "Phulnagar". The Naru Rajputs of Mau, an adjacent township, had gotten an eyeful of Phillaur and in the long run under their Chief Rae Shahr they wrested it from the Jats.
Rae Rattan Pal, the child of Rae Shahr, enjoyed it so much that he deserted Mau and settled in Phillaur. The Jats at that point left the place. Later, nonetheless, at some period obscure, the Rajputs additionally abandoned it. Nothing is known from that point until the rule of the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan 1627-1658 when a majestic Sarai was worked at Phillaur. Afterward, the town was possessed by Kakarah Sikhs and held until Maharaja Ranjit Singh 1780-1839 grabbed all the Kakarah Estates.
After the crumple of the Mughal Empire, Maharaja Ranjit Singh sent Dewan Mohkam Chand, about the year 1809, to claim the Imperial Serai and changed over it into an imposing Fort with the assistance of his French and Italian officers, specifically Generals Ventura, Allard, and Avitabile. It was worked in answer to the British who had constructed a little Fort at Ludhiana on the remainders said to be of an old Lodhi Fort, and to protect the ship of Phillaur. The British possessed this Fort in 1846 after the Sikhs were vanquished in the clash of Aliwal.