Gumbaz is basically the burial chamber of Haider Ali, the father of Tipu Sultan, his mother Fatima Begum, and Tipu Sultan himself. The Gumbaz is made on a lifted platform and is surrounded by the tombs of other relatives and nobles of Tipu Sultan. The Gumbaz was constructed by the then king of Mysore, Tipu Sultan between 1782 and 1784. This wonderful tomb is amazingly set in the midst of the Lalbagh Garden. Lalbagh Graden is nothing but the burial chamber of Tipu Sultan and his parents. The entire formation is located on a high and extended platform where an unfastened verandah of polished pillars enhances the beauty of the dome. The ivory inlaid doors of this well-shaped large dome are fabulous. The windows are made of carved stone which are bearing the witness of excellent inscriptions and workmanship. These are the highlights of this wonderful site. Walls of the dome are coated by the favourite tiger stripes of Tipu. Tomb of Hyder Ali is located in the centre of the Gumbaz whereas; the tombs of Tipu Sultan and Fatima Begam are lying on either side of the same. Tombs of other family members of Hyder Ali are situated on the corridor and on the platform. Built on a stone base, the masterpiece has elegant black granite pillars that move along the verandah up to the inner chamber. The tombs are designed in a special way to be encircled with Lalbagh Garden, which is an excellent example of typical Islamic architecture. The Masjid-E-Ala is also located inside this tomb area. The structure houses a tablet containing Persian script. The tablet basically tells about the martyrdom of Tipu Sultan in 1799 AD. The Gumbaz is around 20 meters in height, and approximately 220 years old. The entire structure has a granite ceiling and carved walls which are geometrically excellent. 36 granite pillars are set here to support the entire structure which are well polished and enhance the beauty of the Gumbaz. The 36 pillars in the Gumbaz stand to signify the 36 years rule of Hyder & Tipu Together over Mysore. There were at first three entrance doors which were made completely out of silver and gold. But after the British occupying the right on Srirangapatna, the doors were looted by them and sent to their homeland. Today, these doors are found in Albert Museum of London.