Greyfriars Burial Ground is lying south of Canal Street and west of Tay Street at Perth, this entrancing memorial park contains outstanding amongst other accumulations of old tombstones to be discovered anyplace in Scotland. Greyfriars turned into a graveyard in 1580 when the kirkyard of St John's Kirk came up short on space. The site picked had a long religious custom.
In 1496,A Franciscan Friar was founded here, on a site just outside the boundary of the medieval burgh of Perth. The friary was destroyed at the start of the Reformation in the rioting that following a sermon given by John Knox. On 11 May 1559 in the adjacent St John's Kirk of Perth: and this exhibited a perfect open door when another graveyard was required.