Mendrisio is a municipality in the Mendrisio district in Canton of Ticino in Switzerland. Mendrisio is the seat of Accademia di Archettura of Italian-speaking Switzerland USI University. The Municipality was extended in size on April 4, 2004. Salorino's former municipality was included. On April 5, 2009, it included former municipalities of Arzo, Capolago, Genestrerio, Rancate and Tremona. On April 14, 2013, the former municipality of Beaszio, Ligorento and Myriad merged into the Municipality of Mendresio. Mendresio is served by Mendracio Railway Station.
Mendrisio was first mentioned as Mendrici in 793 and it was also known by the German name, Mendris although this name is not used. However, this area was inhabited during the Roman period. Around 30 graves in the area, a villa and coins have been discovered from a Roman settlement. After the fall of the Roman Empire, Mendresio was the center of a Lombard district and developed into a city. During the Middle Ages, many forts were built on the valley floor between the port S Giovanni and Moree river.
In the late Middle Ages, the Tauriani family built their castle on the rocky hills above the city. Mendrecio became an independent city in Seapri County in 1140. The county was taken three decades later by Como in 1170. After bringing Como into control of Milan, he ruled Mendrecio until 1335. Mendresio was then under the control of Milanese until 1402. In the 15th century, the city was given as a thief to the Roška and Sanseviro families.