It is a notable burial ground in the south-west piece of the city close to the Moscow Triumphal Gate. The burial ground is named after the chronicled Resurrection Novodevichy Convent. In the nineteenth century it was the second most esteemed graveyard after the Tikhvin Cemetery in the Alexander Nevsky Monastery.
The graveyard began in 1845 when the Smolny Convent was moved to this area. The primary entombments date to 1849. In the 1930s, the graveyard church was crushed by the Soviet experts 1929 and numerous tombs were annihilated, while different entombments were exchanged to the Tikhvin Cemetery. In 1989, noteworthy reclamation work was done at the graveyard.