Rain was established for financial and vital reasons. The town shielded Baia from the northwest and gathered traditions from its scaffold over the waterway Lech.
In 1914 a landmark recognizing Tilly was raised before Rain's Rococo town lobby. Rain's design legacy additionally incorporates the Roman Catholic area church of St John the Baptist, which includes late Gothic frescoes dating from around 1480. There is additionally the Schwabian Gate, the memorable Spital with its All Saints' sanctuary and the previous Castle.
Rain has three exhibition halls: the Lachner Brothers Museum, Homeland Museum and Jean-Duprai-Museum. The four Lachner siblings, Theodor, Franz, Ignaz and Vinzenz, were nineteenth-century German writers, every one of whom were conceived in the town.