hellotravel.com hellotravel.com

Rugby World Cup 2019

Event Name : Rugby World Cup 2019
Venue : Various stadiums in New Zealand
Start Date : Friday, 20-Sep-2019
End Date : Sunday, 03-Nov-2019

Relatively new as compared to the Soccer World Cup, Tour de France or the Cricket World Cup, the Rugby World Cup was instituted in 1987. But the volume this tournament has acquired in this brief time line is worthy of being mentioned. The first edition of Rugby World Cup was hosted by New Zealand and Australia with the former emerging as the champions. The championship is governed by the International Rugby Board (IRB), the parent body for the sport. In present times, twenty nations qualify for this event that is segregated in two parts - group and knock-out. All the teams are divided into four pools and they fight it through the finals to walk away with the winners' trophy called William Webb Ellis Cup. This is named after the person with a namesake who is credited with the title of being the inventor of the game. The scope of this event is obvious from the fact that it is telecast in more than 200 countries in the World with a viewer ship of almost a swashbuckling 4 billion. The game of Rugby is not for the unfit lazy heads. A sport for the strong, both physically and mentally, Rugby is played with such aggression and passion that only a brave heart possesses. And this edition is all set to ignite the sparks of rivalry among the teams to bring out the best in them.


You are reading about Rugby World Cup 2019. Find more popular activities to do in New Zealand. Plan your holidays to New Zealand or browse tour packages of New Zealand.

Copyright. All Rights Reserved